A Single’s Valentine’s Day Geek Tradition

butterbeer3

So Valentine’s Day is right around the corner, and while yes it’s cute that some people can get together with their partners and have cute romantic date nights, some of us prefer not to do so.   But on the flip side, sitting at home and watching  youtube videos all night can be incredibly lonely and not a lot of fun, especially when you know so many people who are going to be posting pictures in the morning or telling stories about their nights out.  So what can you do to have a fun night when you’re single or not wanting to do the typical V-Day celebration with your partner?

I have never celebrated your typical Valentine’s Day, but I have similarly never sat at home alone by myself either.  I always find a way to have fun in with some of my friends.  Last year a friend and I hung out, ate Chinese food and gluten free brownies, and watched one of my favorite musicals—Chicago, but most years I opt for something slightly geekier.

Now, I am a huge fan of Harry Potter.  Harry Potter everything.  So it wasn’t a big surprise when I suggested to a friend of mine about 5 years ago that we should start doing something Harry Potter-esc for our Valentine’s Day in.  Thus, the annual Butterbeer Experience (named rightfully after the wizard rock band) was created.

So what does the Annual Butterbeer Experience consist of?  Well, it varied every year, but usually it was us getting together, making butterbeer, eating candy hearts, and doing something else highly geeky like playing Harry Potter videogames or reading fanfiction.   It never has mattered what we do, we always have a blast with doing it.

So today I want to share with you the recipe we’ve used for butterbeer in the past.   It is far from healthy, which goes against everything this blog is about, but we all need to indulge ourselves every once in awhile.


The Recipe

There are hundreds of butterbeer recipes out there, but the one I am going to share with you was the only one that could be found on mugglenet back in 2009 (before Wizarding World of Harry Potter was selling their own butterbeer).  Many say this is the original Madame Rosmerta’s Butterbeer recipe.

butterbeer

Ingredients:

  • I cup club soda or cream soda (I’ve used both and both are excellent)
  • ½ cup butterscotch syrup
  • ½ tablespoon butter
  • Whip topping

Directions:

  1. Measure butterscotch and butter into a microwave safe bowl. Microwave on high for 1 to 1 ½ minutes or until syrup is bubbly.
  2. Stir and let cool for thirty seconds.
  3. Slowly mix in the soda—Mixture will fizz
  4. Fill the bottom of each mug with whip topping (this step is very important!!)
  5. Poor mixture over whip topping in mugs.

This will make 2-3 servings.

**If you’d prefer an alcoholic version, you can use 1-2 oz. butterscotch schnapps in place of some of the butterscotch (I’ve never made this version, so you’ll have to test out some of the best combinations).**


I warn you now; this drink is super sweet so you’ll need to drink it slowly!  Trust me; you’ll understand what the hype is about butterbeer once you try it!

What is your favorite thing to do on Valentine’s Day?  Let me know in the comments below!

Until Next Time,

Kat

Leave a comment