I baked an Egg into a tomato and I eat that twice a week

So the other day I pulled 30 tomatoes off the wine in our garden all in one day. So it’s safe to say I’ve been coming up with new ways to eat tomatoes because I have so many of them. My new favorite? Bake it with an egg in it. I’ve tried a few different ways to do this and I think I have finally come up with the best way, so today I want to share that with you!


Ingredients:

  • 1 Medium sized tomato
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 large egg
  • Cheese of choice (optional)
  1. Cut the top off your tomato and core out the flesh inside, leaving a thick wall of tomato
  2. Spray tomato with nonstick spray an place on a parchment paper lined baking sheet
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes
  4. Crack and egg in a mug (this makes it way easier to pour)
  5. Remove tomato from oven and poor egg inside.
  6. Return to oven and cook an additional 10-15 minutes or until egg whites are just beginning to solidify
  7. If you do not want to add cheese continue baking until egg whites solidify and do not look runny
  8. If adding cheese, switch oven to broil, put cheese on top of tomato and broil for 5 minutes

I love this because you still get a nice, runny egg, but you also get the delicious juicy tomato. This makes a great open faced sandwich if you want to enjoy this over a piece of whole wheat toast, but personally I love it over a bed of cauliflower rice. The way the egg yolk and the cauliflower rice mix is so amazing!

Have you ever tried something like this? What’s your favorite tomato recipe? Let me know in the comments below because I’ve got plenty more tomatoes to use up!

Until next time,

Kat

Leave a comment