Kukui Nut Oil

I’ve talked before about the trip I recently took to the Hawaiian Islands, and I’ve also talked about all the different skin care products I learned about while I was there.  One of the most prominent and useful products I discovered while there was Kukui Nut oil—useful for a large assortment of skin ailments, and today I want to talk to you about that product.


Kukui Nuts?

I had never heard of kukui nuts before my trip to Hawaii, but once I was there I realized how common the nuts and their oil are to the Hawaiian islands.  Aleurties moluccanus, also known as candlenut trees, were brought to Hawaii by the early Polynesians.  The trees since then have become very common in Hawaii and have even become the state tree.   In ancient Hawaii, the nuts were burned to provide light.  Most often, they were strung on a palm leaf and one nut was burned every 15 minutes.  This became a method for measuring time.

kukui tree

Kukui Tree

Throughout time, people have discovered that kukui plants have a wide variety of uses including those in cooking and medicine.  The flowers were used commonly for medical ailments, whereas the nuts are used commonly in cooking.  Raw, the seeds are mildly toxic but also work well as a stimulate, a laxative, or as a hair tonic in shampoo.  Small amounts of the seeds aren’t going to affect you too much, but I wouldn’t suggest munching down on a large amount of them!

kukui nut lei

Classic Kukui Nut Lei

The shells left over from the seeds are used most often in Hawaiian leis.  These hard shells were either used as were or were polished black, tan, or brown.  In early days, only royalty wore these leis and they were given to show respect or appreciation, but over time they have become more common as a normal jewelry item in everyday life.

Oil extracted from the nuts is often used as a skin and hair care.  The natural oil helps pores in both skin and hair.  I’ve been using it for about 6 months now and could not be happier with the results.


What does Kukui nut oil do?

I would easily say that I have mildly dry skin.  At times it almost seems like eczema, where large patches of my face break out into a dry rash that is difficult to get rid of.  I have tried everything to fix these outbreaks, different moisturizers, face scrubs, and cleansers.  Eventually it always goes away, but for that week or so that I have it, it’s always a big pain in the butt.  While I was in Hawaii, I had one of these outbreaks.   My entire left cheek dried out, and I had no idea what had caused it.  Worse part was, I didn’t have anything with me to treat it.  Thankfully, the next day I heard about Kukui Nut oil which is popularly used to treat dry skin, sunburns, eczema, and psoriasis.   Without much delay, I picked up a 4 oz. bottle of Kukui nut oil and tried it out.  Using it on my face twice a day, my dry patch disappeared completely within three days, a record for my skin.

Kukui nut oil helps to protect, heal, and nourish skin that is exposed to harsh elements, such as sun, winds, and salt water, which is why it is so popular in Hawaii.  The oil quickly penetrates through the skin and leaves the skin moisturized and completely greaseless.  This works in just minutes!   It is also said to help clear up and prevent acne break outs, and from what I’ve seen in use that’s true enough.

Since using the kukui nut oil, I’ve noticed a significant difference in my skin.  I use it once a day, twice a day if I’m having dry skin or a break out, and it’s kept my skin soft and silky for the most part.  If I do end up with a break out or a patch of dry skin, it usually clears up within two or three days.

My favorite thing about Kukui oil is that it doesn’t leave the skin greasy like you would expect from oil.  Within just a few minute after application, the skin soaks up the oil and it starts working.  Plus, a little bit of oil goes a long way.  Just three or four drops cover my entire face in an even application.  So that 4 oz. bottle I bought 6 months ago, I’ve only used about 1 ½ oz. of it, so it makes the purchase well worth it.


Where do you get Kukui nut oil?

I bought my bottle of kukui nut oil at the ABC store in Hawaii (they have them everywhere).  The brand I bought was Oils of Aloha which was purchased there for around $16. They have a large variety of oil from scented to fragrance free.  I chose fragrance free since some fragrances can cause my face to break out.   Some of their fragrances include tropical breeze, kukui nut  oilpacific mist, and paradise, among others.  They also sell different lotions and creams made with kukui nut oil incase pure oil isn’t your thing.  Also, their oils are all hypoallergenic, non-comedogenic, and cruelty free, so that’s a real added bonus.  On the ABC online store the oil sells for $17.99, and the lotions and creams sell for $14.99.  There is standard $9 shipping on top of that, however, I definitely think that it is worth the cost and the shipping price since it will last you so long.

But if you aren’t willing to buy from Hawaii because of the shipping price or whatever reason, there are a few other options as well.  Target online stores sell the Oils of Aloha kukui nut oil (only online) for $22.99 plus shipping.  It’s the exact same product, just another place you can find it.

Alba Botanica also sells a kukui nut oil for about $6.  However, this product, sold as body oil, also includes sunflower oil, coconut oil, and other oils, so you aren’t getting that pure kukui nut oil you are with the Oils of Aloha.  It probably works similarly, but I have not tried it for myself.

I’m sure you could also find Kukui Nut oil other places online.  If you do find it and find it at an awesome price, make sure to let me know!


So are you going to try Kukui Nut oil?  If you try it out let me know in the comments below?  Have a skin care product that you absolutely love?  Let me know and I might give it a try and review it as well!

Until Next Time,

Kat

Read more about the kukui nut: http://www.canoeplants.com/kukui.htm

3 thoughts on “Kukui Nut Oil

  1. Pingback: My Personal Skin Care Routine | Kat Classics

  2. Pingback: Sunburn Care 101 | Kat Classics

  3. Pingback: One Year of Kat Classics | Kat Classics

Leave a comment