DIY Sugar Scrub

I have talked numerous times on this blog about how much I love using a sugar scrub once a week to exfoliate my skin, keep it smooth, and remove any dead skin cells.  I have recently began running out of my normal sugar scrub, a little gem I picked while I was in Hawaii, and I figured that instead of forking out the cash to buy a new container of it, I should try to make my own scrub and how I liked that.

So today, I want to share with you the sugar scrub that I made in my own kitchen and give you an idea of how you can make your own at home.


What you’ll needwpid-20150421_152818.jpg

  • Pot or jar to put everything in (I used a recycled pot from one of my old Lush products)
  • ¼ cup sugar (Amount may vary depending on the size of your container)
  • Liquid Coconut Oil
  • Kukui Nut Oil
  • Tea Tree oil (or other essential Oil)
  • Fragrant Essential Oil (make sure it is safe for skin)

How to put together

  1. Make sure that your pot or container is clean.  Your pot can vary in size depending on how much scrub you would like to make.
    wpid-20150421_152852.jpg
  2. Place sugar in pot. You can use normal white sugar, cane sugar, or even brown sugar if you prefer.  In my recipe I used normal white baking sugar.
    wpid-20150421_152911.jpg
  3. Soak the sugar with Coconut oil. Make sure to stir it around so all the sugar is soaked.  Add a little extra so there is some to continuously soak the sugar.  (I used a little over ¼ of a cup)
  4. Add about 2-3 tablespoons of Kukui Nut Oil. You can use more or less of this as you please.
  5. Add about 10 drops of Tea Tree Oil or other essential oil
  6. Because I do not like the smell of Tea Tree Oil, I used about 10 drops of a Fragrant Essential Oil (Serenity Blend) to buffer the smell of the Tea Tree Oil. Lavender, found in Serenity Blend, is also great for the skin.
  7. Mix well.
  8. Use on face once a week. Store at room temperature between uses.
    wpid-20150421_153322.jpg

What essential oil to use

I used Tea Tree oil in my blend because it works as an anti fungal and is therefore great for fighting acne and break outs.  The Kukui nut oil is great for keeping skin moisturized, so together they are a great combination.

Other essential oils great for skin include Frankincense, Geranium, Lavender, and Neroli which are beneficial for acne prone, oily skin.  Geranium, Lavender, Myrrh, and Ylang Ylang are great for dry skin as well.   Check out this article for more information on essential oils that are good for skin care.

I found my Tea Tree oil in my local grocery store for around $6.  They also had plenty of other essential oils as well.  Some are more expensive than others, so keep that in mind when thinking of what blend you are going to use on your skin.


Overall Review

As far how much I liked my DIY sugar scrub, I can definitely say that it worked at keeping my skin feeling exfoliated and soft.  I think next time I would use a larger gradient of sugar, maybe a larger cane sugar, just to feel like it was exfoliating more, but overall it felt a lot like my usual sugar scrub.  My face isn’t currently breaking out, so I can’t say too much for if the Tea Tree oil worked for that, but I can say that my face hasn’t broken out in the days since I used the product, so that’s good!

I was afraid that the smell from the Tea Tree oil was going to linger.  Tea Tree has a very spicy, strong scent to it, and I wouldn’t have been surprised if it stayed on my skin for awhile, but it didn’t!  My face didn’t smell like Tea Tree oil at all after use, so that was a bonus.  It does not detour me at all from using Tea Tree oil again in a sugar scrub in the future.

Overall, I do prefer the scrub that I got from Hawaii, it has more natural oils in it than just the few in this and I like the smell a lot more.  But as far as a cheaper, just as effective sugar scrub is concerned, I think this works just as well or is a good alternative for in between buying scrub!

Have you ever made your own sugar scrub or body scrub?  Share your recipe in the comments below.

Until next time,

Kat

One thought on “DIY Sugar Scrub

  1. Pingback: The Importance of Exfoliation | Kat Classics

Leave a comment